Finding my Zen

When New Years Day rolled around this year, I didn’t really want to make a resolution.  They can be so cliche and they are often broken with in weeks.  The next week a friend asked me to go to a yoga class with her, I agreed and went to sign up for the class.  Their New Years new client special was a fantastic deal and much more economical than purchasing one class (I can never resist a good deal!)  I paid for the month and joined my friend in class.  I’m not the most graceful person but I did the entire class and loved it without making a total fool of myself and falling over and into someone else creating human dominos!  When I was walking out to my car, this sense of calm and peace came over me out of nowhere and remained with me.  I felt great and quickly signed up for more classes.  I continue to love to practice yoga and share this new passion of mine with others.  It has been a wonderful method of stress relief for me.

Everyone has stress in their lives and everyone copes with it differently.  Stress can be related to work, family, friends, bills, a busy schedule and so much more.  I never realized how much stress can affect my daily life.  After leaving work I’m usually tired and need to de-compress after a 12 hour day.  This can be difficult some days because I go straight home, eat dinner and go to bed to do it all over again in the next 8-10 hours.  I love my career but it can be very stressful, even on the best days, as I’m sure many other careers are.  I started to eat more junk food to cope some days and I quickly started to notice myself gaining weight and not feeling great.

I have tried many things to help me de-compress, meet new people and add culture to my life.  These include running (not my forte!), photography, yoga, reading, coloring, cooking, meditation, shopping (not always the best thing for my budget!), and vacationing (again with the budget!).  These have all been fun for me but not always the most practical, I have to work (which I love by the way) so I can travel and sadly do not have unlimited time off!

Yoga by far has been my favorite providing both exercise and zen to my daily life.  I am no where near perfect at yoga and I never will be, this is one of the many beautiful things about yoga.  Everyone’s practice is different-how it’s approached, executed and incorporated into your life, it allows for each individual person in the class to take away something special and enrich their lives every day.  No one is expected to be perfect and everyone is there for themselves, not to impress anyone else.  Yoga is a beautiful practice that enriches my life in every aspect and helps me to decompress after a long day at work.

Don’t get me wrong, I have tried yoga before and hated it! I sure loved my yoga pants but I sure didn’t love the practice of yoga! Trying to coordinate breathing, stretching and twisting myself into a pretzel; I was like how is this fun or helpful and I’m paying for this??  After going into a class with an open mind and knowing yoga is not a competition and everyone is there for their own reasons did I truly embrace the meaning and practice of yoga.

Peace, love and zen

One thought on “Finding my Zen

Comments are closed.